Welcome Employees
Eldorado Country Club
2014-2015 Scholarship Awards Ceremony

The Scholarship Committee held its annual Scholarship Breakfast and Ceremony on Saturday, April 26, 2014 at the club.  There were 22 scholarships awarded for the 2014-2015 academic year.  In attendance were scholarship recipients, their parents, members of the scholarship committee, club memebers and invited guests.  Maria Carreno, Human Resources Specialist, presided over the ceremony.  Dorothy Hamill MacColl, 1976 Olympic Gold Medalist - Figure Skating was special guest speaker.

This year's award recipients included:

Scholarship Award Recipients (Renewals)
Amairany Aguayo (Nursing) - College of the Desert 
   Daughter of Claudia Aguayo
Chanel Badillo (Liberal Studies)  - Mira Costa College
   Daughter of Jesse Badillo
Jacquelin Barajas (Social Work) - New Mexico Highlands University 
   Daughter of Martha Barajas
Sarah Beardsley (Nutrition and Dietetics) - Boise State University  
   Daughter of Terry and Karen Beardsley
Marisol Ceballos (Business Administration) - College of the Desert 
   Daughter of Jorge Ceballos                           
Tayler Foster (Exercise Physiology) - CSU Chico 
   Daughter of Kristi Foster              
Humberto Garcia (Criminology, Society and Law) - UC Irvine
   Son of Humberto Garcia, Sr.
Miriam Garcia-Salazar (Liberal Studies) - UC Riverside
   Daughter of Humberto Garcia, Sr.
Angel Lopez (Interior Architecture and Design) - Academy of Art University
   Son of Perfecto Lopez
Veronica Mendez (Business Administration) - College of the Desert
    Daughter of Jesus Romero
Hayley Musashi (Journalism) - University of Hawaii
   Daughter of Tawny Musashi
Krystal Nunez (Spanish) - CSU San Bernardino
   Daughter of Maria Barajas
Andres Peguero (Wildlife Management) - College of the Desert
   Son of Jovita Peguero
Jazmin Ramirez (Anthropology) - UC Riverside
    Daughter of Sonia Ramirez            
Trevor Vallo (Communications) - Fullerton Community College
   Son of Torivio Vallo

Scholarship Award Recipients (New)

Fernando Aceves (Business) - CSU San Bernardino
    Son of Jeanette Mancilla Aceves
Sara Ceballos (Spanish) - UC Riverside
   Daughter of Jorge Ceballos
Eric Delgado (Electrical Engineering) - College of the Desert
   Son of Andres Delgado
Jacqueline Garcia Salazar (Criminology) - CSU San Marcos
   Daughter of Humberto Garcia Sr.
Madeline Monahan (General Studies) - College of the Desert
   Daughter of Katie Owens
Brianna Nava (Communicative Disorders) - CSU Fullerton
   Daughter of Alma Diaz
Britney Nava (Psychology) - San Diego City College
   Daughter of Alma Diaz
Logan Vallo (Civil Engineering) - Ohio University

Eldorado Country Club Scholarship - Background
2014 marks the fifteenth year of the Eldorado Country Club Scholarship Fund. Originally started as a retirement fund for former caddy Freddie Pennie, the fund was converted to a Scholarship Fund upon Freddie's death in 1999. Robert L. Haynie, Neil Griffin, and a group of Eldorado members established the scholarship fund originally with The San Diego Foundation, and in 2007, the fund was transferred to The Desert Community Foundation, a local, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, which administers 15 scholarship funds for private clubs in the Coachella Valley.  Since its inception in 1999, the Fund has provided 109 scholarship awards totaling $1,166,000.  In many cases, the recipients are the first family member to attend a college level program beyond high school.

Scholarship Award Criteria
Prospective applicants must be children of employees or employees of Eldorado Country Club. Students must have a financial need and be accepted for admission to an accredited  college/university or vocational/trade school. Other factors considered are work experience, participation in extra-curricular activities and community service. Scholarship recipients must maintain a cumulative GPA of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale. The scholarship may be used for tuition, fees, books,  room and board, transportation and computer systems.

Scholarship amounts are awarded up to $10,000 per year based on the financial needs of the student. The scholarship is renewable each year. Since the award criteria is reevaluated each year the scholarship amount may be changed in subsequent years based on current information.